FLO NE Women Achievers Award presented

FICCI Ladies Organisation (FLO), Northeast Chapter, organised their annual flagship event — presentation of FLO NE Women Achievers Award for Excellence for the year 2015. Every year, they honour five Women Achievers of the Northeast region for their achievements in overcoming great odds and excelling in their respective fields. 



This year the Annual Event & Excellence Award Presentation was held on the March 27, 2015 at NEDFI House, Dispur. State Bank of India sponsored the event.


The Awardees included:


Meena Debbarma from Tripura, National Film Award winner (2010) for the Kokborok film YARWNG (Roots), and is a social activist for the rights of Tribals.


G. Lalthanzami from Mizoram, a social activist from Mizoram, runs a ‘Safe Home‘ for women who have suffered domestic abuse and counsels them


Birubala  Rabha, from Assam is fighting to eradicate the superstition of killing innocent people in the name of witch-hunting


Tongam Rina of The Arunachal Times, the brave-heart journalist from Arunachal Pradeshwrites without fear and survived being shot at by two gunmen from point blank range.


Rupshika Borah, from Assam is the Director (Finance) of Oil India Limited and will take over as the Chairman and Managing Director of Oil India Ltd on July 1, 2015 


The Chief Minister of Assam, Tarun Gogoi graced the occasion as Chief Guest. He was accompanied by his wife, Dolly Gogoi. FLO National President, Neeta Boochra, was the Guest of Honour from Delhi.


“It is a great opportunity wherein Women Empowerment or Nari Shakti,  is recognized and felicitated for the important changes that can be made in evolving society through the empowerment of women,” said Smita Agarwal , Chairperson.


Teresa Rehman

Teresa Rehman

Teresa Rehman is an award-winning journalist based in Northeast India. She had worked with India Today magazine, The Telegraph and Tehelka. She is now the Managing Editor of The Thumb Print. She has been awarded the WASH Media Awards 2009-2010. She had recieved the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Award for two consecutive years (2008-09 and 2009-10) for the category 'Reporting on J&K and the Northeast (Print). She received the Laadli Media Award for Gender Sensitivity 2011, Sanskriti Award 2009 for Excellence in Journalism and the Seventh Sarojini Naidu Prize 2007 for Best Reporting on Panchayati Raj by The Hunger Project. She was also featured in the Power List of Femina magazine in 2012. Her two book are 'The Mothers of Manipur' (Zubaan Books) and Bulletproof (Penguin).